

Contact: Eileen E. Denne, Eileen@arrx.org; (501) 372-5250

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

ARKANSAS PHARMACISTS ASSOCIATION HONORS INDIVIDUALS WITH 2013 AWARDS

LITTLE ROCK, AR (June 10, 2013) – The Arkansas Pharmacists Association (APA) presented six 2013 awards to deserving individuals Thursday, June 6, during its 131st Annual Convention held at the Little Rock Marriott from June 6-8.

"We're proud to honor our award winners today. Many Arkansas pharmacists give back to their communities and professional associations whether they work in retail, community clinics or other practices," said APA Executive Vice President Mark Riley. "These individuals have made extraordinary contributions to the pharmacy profession, to their towns, businesses and to others through their work or public service."

APA 2013 Award recipients include:

2013 Pharmacist of the Year: Carl Collier, P.D., owner of Collier Drug Stores in Fayetteville, was recognized for his career managing eight Collier Drug Stores and his community service in northwest Arkansas.

2013 Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year: Zach Holderfield, Pharm.D., pharmacist and co-owner of Cornerstone Specialty Pharmacy in Fayetteville, was honored for his successful business practices and co-ownership of four community pharmacies in northwest Arkansas and North Little Rock.

2013 Bowl of Hygeia Award: Vicki Fowlkes, P.D. and Karrol Fowlkes, Pharm.D., were honored for their service to their communities of Salem and Little Rock and for their contributions to the profession of pharmacy.

2013 Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award: Lanita White, Pharm.D., director of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) 12th Street Health and Wellness Center in Little Rock, was honored for her work developing the services and education for clinic patients.

2013 Charles M. West Leadership Award: Mr. Dylan Jones, a third-year student at the UAMS College of Pharmacy, Fayetteville campus, received a scholarship to support his leadership skills and contributions to the profession of pharmacy.

2013 Cardinal Health Generation Rx Award: Lelan Stice, P.D., MBA, owner of Doctor's Orders Pharmacies in White Hall and Pine Bluff, was honored for his prescription drug abuse educational prevention efforts aimed at patients, youth, and other members of the community.

The Arkansas Pharmacists Association, founded in 1882, is the statewide professional association representing approximately 2,200 pharmacists in Arkansas. APA strives to further the professional advancement of

pharmacists, advocate the value of pharmacy, and safeguard the health and well-being of every Arkansan. Its mission is to advance a professional and business environment for Arkansas pharmacists to be successful and fulfilled in serving patients.

###

417 South Victory Street, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-2923 Phone: 501-372-5250, Fax: 501-372-0546

www.arrx.org